Creating new music

Posted: September 11, 2015 in music
Tags: ,

Now that I have released my first EP, I’m looking to start working on new material again.  Ideally, I’m looking for guitar (me), bass, drums, keys, and a singer to create and play original tunes.   I’m looking for it to be more hard rock or progressive metal but I’d rather see what comes out of collaboration than set a specific genre.  Since I have not had much luck in the past trying to get responses, I think this time I will propose a new way to start the interaction.  If you are interested, let’s do just one song remotely.  It does not have to be a good song, but we can get it to a demo state by trading tracks through email.  If we think it works, great, let’s do another one.  If not we go our separate ways, no hard feelings.  There seems to be a fear of commitment to a “band” so I want to put those fears aside and get to the music.

Expectations
This does mean though that you will need to have the necessary skills/equipment to record whatever it is you bring to the table in a reasonable fashion.  It doesn’t have to be studio quality but enough that it can be put into a mix.  Singing/playing into a phone should be good enough.  That is the only requirement.  I don’t really even care that much about the genre, but below are my influences, so you can get a feel for what I might bring with my guitar and/or bass playing.

Influences
My main influences are bands like Dream Theater, Rush, Kamelot, Megadeth, Coheed and Cambria and solo artists like Joe Satriani, Steve Morse and Marco Sfogli. But if you were to look at my Spotify or last.fm favorites you will see all kinds of stuff like Royal Hunt, Porcupine Tree, Andy James, Flying Colors, Tom Petty, The Vanden Plas and gasp Styx, Toto, and Firehouse.   I also enjoy harder instrumental stuff like Chimp Spanner and Scale the Summit so I’m open to something like that as well.

If none of that works out, I will apparently have time to work on my next solo EP. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

