EP Released

Posted: September 8, 2015 in music
Tags: , ,

It has been many years, but I have finally finished a set of songs!  For better or worse my first EP, Echoes, is released today and it has five songs.  Of course, I’m trying to get this out on Spotify, etc. and since this is first time I have no idea how long it will actually take for that part to happen.  But you can find the songs on my SoundCloud account in the meantime.  So if you are interested you can start there.  This collection is basically impressions when thinking back on my teens/early twenties.  From “Taste Of Freedom” when I first was able to drive on my own, to remembering meeting my wife with “Song For Stacy”.  Throw in “Sanctuary” about having that place to relax and unwind and “Where Are My Sunglasses” for another driving memory about summer time in the Northwest.  The last one “Echoes”, is kind of a meta song with me realizing that for each of the songs I was drawing on the past for inspiration and looking to expand the dynamics in my songwriting.  Here is the cover art:

EchoesCoverEchoesBackCover

Overall, these are pretty straight forward guitar instrumental songs, but these are from my first “real” set of songs since I picked up the guitar again.  It has been a few years, but there definitely is difference when you go from playing the guitar to actually writing cohesive songs.  So this whole exercise helped me focus on that.  On this EP the drums were all programmed as I just couldn’t find the time to find a drummer and go through the process of getting those recorded.  Between the youngest kid graduating, my wife and I going to Costa Rica, and our third and fourth grandchildren being born I’m actually surprised I was able to find time at all.  In fact everything about this EP was basically done “in the box” to make it easier.  The only track recorded with a microphone was the radio voice stuff on “Where Are My Sunglasses”.  All the guitars and bass were recorded direct into my Line 6 Toneport UX1 and I used the PodFarm modeling software to get the tones I wanted.  I used Reaper as my DAW and just used the stock plug-ins to do EQ, compression, and delay/reverb effects.  A Mackie Universal Control control surface helped make mixing quite a bit easier.

I know normally an artist would tour after releasing new music, but obviously that isn’t going to happen.  Instead, I’ll continue to get better at the guitar and start my next EP soon.  Hopefully I’ll look back on this EP  as an amateur attempt because that means I’m continuing to grow in my skill both as a guitar player and songwriter.  I’m also going to see if I can find some collaborators to create music as well (hit me up if interested).  In the past I have not had luck, but I’m hoping this recording will help.  I will probably try to put out a video on what I used to record it and maybe some more details on how to use a Mackie Universal Control to help with the music making process.  I do already have one on how to connect it up to Reaper, but it can be setup to do a ton more so you don’t have to use a mouse and keyboard very much at all.  Anyway, let me know what you think.  If enough people like it maybe I can get my hands on a Mesa Boogie 5:25 and really take it to the next level.  If you want to keep up with my future music endeavors you can subscribe to my music newsletter (apologies for the weird link, I’m still getting used to MailChimp).

Leave a Reply

