Stay at Home Winter NAMM 2015 – Day 2

Posted: January 22, 2015 in music
Tags: , ,
Welcome to day two!  I know you were up late on the show floor checking out all the gear you forgot you had and getting it all nice and shiny.  You’re tired and you know you still have 3 more days to go.  So it is a great time to take a little bit of time and dream.  Dream about your ideal setup.  No, not your “I won the lottery” setup.  The setup that is possible with what is in front of you.  What arrangement would make it easier to make music?  What instrument is used most?  Look at the space and think about how to get the most out of it.  What do you want to do musically this year and how do you mold the space to help you get there?
For me that involved moving a rack from the left side of my desk to the right and putting in some L brackets so I could put in a shelf for my MIDI controller.  Earth shattering?  Hardly, but it gets the components right next to my computer for cabling as well as being within arms reach.  It also cleans up the look from down the hall, but that is just a side benefit.  I can move my microphones into it as well so that I can reach everything to record from my office chair.
It is also a good time to think about what is no longer needed.  Maybe there is a piece of gear that just doesn’t suit you anymore.  Now that it is clean it can be a candidate for passing it on to someone who can use it and you can start a fund for a piece of new gear (keep checking out the NAMM gear videos!) or maybe it just needs to be tossed.
This second day is about taking a deeper look at what is available.
Leave a Reply

