SWEAT Pledge Part 7 and Final Installment

Posted: October 2, 2014 in Personal-Development
Tags:
And we come to the end.  I have not done anything like this before in terms of serial writing, especially something that is a bit more serious.  It has been interesting to go through both the process and taking a look at myself in a semi public light.
I’ll post my actual mission statement in a few days.
12. I believe that all people are created equal. I also believe that all people make choices. Some choose to be lazy. Some choose to sleep in. I choose to work my butt off.
I love this as well.  I know that not everyone has great circumstances when starting out so it is absolutely critical that I keep that in mind as I go through my daily life because there might be a reason someone is grumpy when I talk to them.  It probably has nothing to do with me.  Will it make me want to match moods, probably, but I cannot control them only my reaction to them.  It also goes back to numbers ten and eleven in looking inward to my motivations.  Like the US Constitution it really is the foundation for everything I do.  From how I interact with others to how I form my opinions of people and events.
It is also a realization that I am equal to those who I might look to as role models.  What they do is possible for me as well.  It might not be easy but they had to start at zero just like me.  So it should be motivation to both explore those desires as well as put in the work to bring them to fruition.  Of course, it also means that they have flaws just like I do so I cannot blindly follow everything they do.  I have to look to them for inspiration but make my own way.
It is funny that in going through this it really is keeping to those things you learned in kindergarten.  Play nice, share your toys, and don’t hit.  As adults things get “complicated” when it really is simple set of rules that make everyone nicer.
Comments
  1. […] Posted: August 18, 2014 in Personal-Development Tags: personal-development 1 I have enjoyed Mike Rowe on Dirty Jobs for a number of years.  After the show I lost track of him, but two things brought him back to my attention.  First a friend of my daughter got a scholarship through his foundation and second an interview of his was on the Reason YouTube channel. During the interview he mentioned the sweat pledge so I had to look it up.  I was very surprised at how it closely fit with my world view and really is helping to bring in focus the mission statement I have been puzzling over myself while going through the 7 Habits from Steven Covey. There are twelve tenets so to speak, so I was going through them one at at a time to make them personal and I figured I would post them as well.  At the end I might throw out my finished “mission statement” as an accountability thing as well as a way to easily periodically review.  Surprisingly, I will start with the first one. 1. I believe that I have won the greatest lottery of all time. I am alive. I walk the Earth. I live in America. Above all things, I am grateful. I love this because it starts with the baseline for everyone, you are alive.  Regardless of anything else it recognizes that you are here and attempting to understand this thing we call life.  This is great because it reinforces that “hey you are here”, so what are you going to do with that opportunity. Geography aside, that last sentence is harder to digest.  Like anything in my life, I get used to things as they are and even the most amazing things become mundane when they are there every day.  Being grateful is difficult and is normally brought back into focus only when something unusual happens, usually a tragedy of some sort.  I want to recognize that I have so much to be grateful for and give a voice to that even if something doesn’t kick down the blinders. It does not mean I have not worked for what I have but that I show appreciation for what and who are around me. [Update 10/04/2014: Added all the parts here to make it easier to follow.] Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Part 5 Part 6 Part 7 […]

Leave a Reply

