SWEAT Pledge Part 6

Posted: September 29, 2014 in Personal-Development
Tags:
Heading down the home stretch.  To me these two are related in that they deal with giving credit where credit is due and looking inward when there are outward forces beyond my control.
10. I believe that I am a product of my choices – not my circumstances. I will never blame anyone for my shortcomings or the challenges I face. And I will never accept the credit for something I didn’t do.
I think this one is obvious when I think about it, but at the same time difficult in that it is less work to blame a situation on fate or someone else’s behavior.  That blame allows me to not look into my own reasons for doing the right thing.  Sometimes I am tired and it is easier and sometimes I just do not want to hear the answer.  I get that not every single action during the day requires introspection but even those do add up over time and it is important to reflect on those periodically.  A quick example would be fitness.  For myself, I am well out of shape and while I could blame a desk job and family responsibilities, if I look deeper I can see that even though that is true on the surface there are choices I make every day that reflect my attitude toward it.  Doing the work to get fit is not really that fun and I do have 30 minutes a day where I could be active.  I just watch that next show, YouTube video, see that it is raining, or I do not have enough money for a tennis club membership.  These really should not be enough to stop me but it is easy to allow them to stop me.  It still boils down to my choice.  Other people get fit in the same or worse circumstances so it is worth looking at my own thought process.
11. I understand the world is not fair, and I’m OK with that. I do not resent the success of others.
I think for me what comes to mind is what my parents would say to me and that is you cannot control what others do, you can only control your response to it.  What I take from that is that there will always be someone smarter, faster, richer, better looking, etc than you so you have to understand yourself and how you will tackle whatever you do.  If you are looking outward for excuses or motivation for what you can and cannot do, you will spend your time resenting what others are doing.  I know this is not easy because that is how people generally gauge how they are doing and then compare themselves to that measurement.  While some of that is fine, if you use that as the only measurement you will end up jealous and not look at how you can work to achieve those same things.
Comments
  1. […] moods, probably, but I cannot control them only my reaction to them.  It also goes back to numbers ten and eleven in looking inward to my motivations.  Like the US Constitution it really is the foundation for […]

  2. […] 10/04/2014: Added all the parts here to make it easier to follow.] Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Part 5 Part 6 Part […]

Leave a Reply

