SWEAT Pledge Part 5

Posted: September 23, 2014 in Personal-Development
Tags:

More than halfway through!

8. I believe the most annoying sounds in the world are whining and complaining. I will never make them. If I am unhappy in my work, I will either find a new job, or find a way to be happy.

This is a fantastic sentiment. I know I find myself getting into this. I have to remind myself I do have control. I am not forced to work for a specific company and if I am unhappy I can work to make the change. Is something like that easy? Of course not, but the point is that rather than complaining about it, I should be figuring out what I want and how to get it done. Which kind of leads to the next one.

9. I believe that my education is my responsibility, and absolutely critical to my success. I am resolved to learn as much as I can from whatever source is available to me. I will never stop learning, and understand that library cards are free.

This is probably the one that rings most true for me. With few exceptions in my life, there is not much I did not think I could learn. It boiled down to a desire to learn that specific thing. That is not a knock on whatever that was, but there is only so much time to learn stuff and at some point you have to pare it down. For me it started before I was 10 with my bike. I learned how to deal with a brutal crank system (who uses a two-piece crank with a small bolt?) and as I turned 10 I was tearing it and the other neighborhood kid’s bike to the frame. I wanted to know how it worked. From there it was helping my dad finish our basement. That meant framing, sheetrock, and finishing work. After that it was the next logical step from bikes, cars. I helped my dad tear down a 75 Celica to rebuild the engine (head gasket) and then onto my own vehicle (75 Chevy Luv). That included taking the engine out multiple times. After that came computers, then programming, and on and on. In each of those it involved reading, asking questions, and hands on experimentation. Youtube today makes that a bit easier in the research part, but I find myself doing the same thing today with music (home recording), woodworking, and even a small amount of metal working. None of that was done in official “school”, except for some of the computer stuff.  The programming was almost exclusively my own time at least until I got a job doing it. To me learning is not just the fact of learning new skills, but I feel it keeps my mind sharp and it provides an opportunity for something new.

Comments
  1. […] [Update 10/04/2014: Added all the parts here to make it easier to follow.] Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Part 5 Part 6 Part […]

Leave a Reply

