SWEAT Pledge Part 4

Posted: September 21, 2014 in Personal-Development
Tags:

This is another post in my continuing my jaunt through the SWEAT pledge from Mike Rowe.

6. I believe that my safety is my responsibility. I understand that being in “compliance” does not necessarily mean I’m out of danger.

I like this one in many ways. Mike Rowe was coming from a work safety take and that definitely is important, but I feel this really can go much further. Some examples are personal safety away from the job, making sure you have emergency food and water (earthquakes here in Washington), and doing routine maintenance on vehicles and systems in the home. I am not there yet but it is something I have been going through myself because it is important to be prepared even if I am afraid I’ll seem to be paranoid. I could see this related to financial preparedness as well. Stuff happens and it isn’t anybody’s responsibility but mine. Like the right insurance and savings against the unexpected. Again I am not perfect but it has been the last year or so that I have been thinking about this with my wife.

7. I believe the best way to distinguish myself at work is to show up early, stay late, and cheerfully volunteer for every crappy task there is.

This is another one where I mostly agree. In the mindset I absolutely agree. In practice you have to be careful. Be happy as you volunteer, it sets you apart. But make sure you have a goal in mind otherwise you may burn out for no real gain. Should I be taking the “what’s in it for me” mindset? Ultimately you do but you should be thinking win/win. If you are doing crap jobs that just get you more crap jobs then you have to think hard about that. Can doing the jobs nobody else wants be a breakthrough? Of course. But working, being strung along in a dead-end job while being promised a raise and never getting it will not help you achieve your goals. Work hard but have a goal in mind to measure against.

Comments
  1. […] me. [Update 10/04/2014: Added all the parts here to make it easier to follow.] Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Part 5 Part 6 Part […]

Leave a Reply

