SWEAT Pledge Part 3

Posted: September 8, 2014 in Personal-Development
Tags:
Continuing the saga with numbers 4 and 5.

4. I do not “follow my passion.” I bring it with me. I believe that any job can be done with passion and enthusiasm.

I’ve been thinking about this one and it is another one where I agree with the overall sentiment, but have a small issue with the phrase.  Maybe I have been brainwashed too much over the years but I think you should still work to understand yourself and move toward what you want to do.
Of course not everything you do will be your ultimate goal, maybe not even most of it.  So in that sense I wholeheartedly agree that even if it is not what you were looking for or if you are looking toward the future, give it your all.  You never know who is watching and more than that you set up the habit, and it is a habit, of bringing your effort to the job.  Does it guarantee “rags to riches” of course not but you will be happier in the long run and learn what it takes to work hard so when your chance comes you can grab it.  Brings to mind a phrase my sixth grade teacher always said; luck is preparedness meeting opportunity.  To me this another way of expressing that.

5. I deplore debt, and do all I can to avoid it. I would rather live in a tent and eat beans than borrow money to pay for a lifestyle I can’t afford.

Yep, I have to admit that even though I knew I should not use consumer debt for “stuff”, I still did.  There are various reasons and justifications but in the end I did.  It is bad because it ends up preventing you from doing what you want since eventually the bill comes due.  Then I am working to pay someone else for things that long ago ceased to be useful.  At this point I would even make the argument that education could be put in that category.  It needs careful consideration and I would be taking a really hard look at the jobs you can get after getting your desired degree.  It is just so hard to start your life so far in the hole.  Just like consumer debt, I am not working for me.  I am working for a corporate entity that cares nothing for me and will wring every last penny it can.  All of that distracts me from achieving my own goals.
Comments
  1. […] are around me. [Update 10/04/2014: Added all the parts here to make it easier to follow.] Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Part 5 Part 6 Part […]

Leave a Reply

