Christmas and a short look back

Posted: December 27, 2013 in Android, Family, music
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve been doing more stuff on Google Plus lately and so haven’t really been keeping up with posts here.  But with Christmas just gone by and the new year right ahead I figured this would be a good time.  Christmas was great with the family especially with 2 new little grand kids.  They had a blast even though the youngest is still too young to appreciate it all.  It was a musical one for me with pickups for my guitar, a couple of  albums (Dream Theater’s new one and the Flying Colors disc), as well as a guitar bag.  I’ll have to post about the process of switching out the pickups and get some sound samples so I can compare.

Musically, I’ve had the chance to borrow a Mackie Control Universal and I’ve been using it with Reaper.  I’m trying to decide if I want to make the switch from Pro Tools.  So far it has been really nice and the community around it is very helpful.  I’d like to try a video on that, but I’ll see if I have time to put that together or not.  I’ve got a few riffs I’ve been working on turning into songs and I’ve tried my hand at lyrics.  Still a work in progress for sure.

I got a Samsung Galaxy S4 earlier this year and have been getting into the new features in Android 4.0, especially Google Now.  Spooky and powerful.  I’m in the middle of a Coursera course for Android development and that has been interesting to get into.  There is another class coming up as well.  Hopefully that will get me some good experience to try to build my own app.  I’m trying to build out a set list one that will hopefully be useful for musicians.  I’ve also been working on a prototype pedalboard that I hope can be useful.  The frame seems pretty good right now, I just need to flesh out the module I hope will set it apart.  You can check out my other blog if you want to keep up with that.

Merry Christmas to everyone and I hope the start of your year is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

