Getting involved

Posted: January 9, 2011 in Local
Tags: , ,
We were annexed by the city of Lake Stevens this past year and while it seemed like a great fit when I voted for it a year ago, things definitely haven’t happened quite the way the annexation meetings hinted.  So far our property tax has gone up 1%, our waste water bill is going to go up something like 50%, and the streets around my house have been dropping faster than the temperature, making my commute even longer.  In return I haven’t seen what services all this money is providing.  I will have to say that I’m a pretty reserved person, but the one place citizens should have a voice is at the city level.  So this year I will begin going to city council meetings and getting involved.  I’m not sure what all that will entail yet, but it should be interesting regardless.
Leave a Reply

