Initial thoughts on sobees beta

Posted: May 9, 2009 in Uncategorized

I’m trying out the sobees beta on my home computer and thought I’d get my initial thoughts down.

Pros: It looks pretty cool.  This is the first time I think I’ve used a WPF app and the ribbon across the top is very clean.  The amount of functionality they have put in is pretty sweet, along with the different windowing layout possibilities.  The search has some intriguing possibilities, because you enter a keyword and it gets back hits from twitter, flickr, and others.  Another benefit is that this is the first one that gets all my networks in one place (friendfeed, facebook, twitter).

Cons: It takes a ton of memory, though I’m not sure if that’s because it’s beta or not.  The data is confusing as it pulls out different information from facebook than say seesmic desktop and I’m not sure why that is.  Also I’m unable to comment on the friendfeed portion and that is the main benefit of friendfeed.  It could be that I just can’t find it.  One other issue is that media isn’t displayed, so if a photo is posted in friendfeed it shows up as a gray bar instead.

Overall, I want to like it, but there are still some things that need to be addressed before it would become my view into my social world.  Until then it’s sessmic desktop and a browser window pointed at friendfeed.

Leave a Reply

