Lots of new prog rock this year

Posted: April 26, 2007 in music

Normally I’ll be looking to get older releases of music on CD if I’m going to get any music at all and since I’m into progressive rock it’s not like I can go on down to Target or something.  So this year has been a little different for me.  I’m actually waiting for music to be released.  And not just one album, but five!  Nightwish is slated to release a new album with the new singer at the end of September.  Symphony X is slated to release their new album at the end of June.  Archetype is slated to release their new album sometime this year.  Rush is slated to release their new album May 1st.  Last but not least, Dream Theater is slated to release their new album at the beginning of June.

The other exciting thing is that I might even get to see some of these bands in person this year too.  Both Nightwish and Symphony X have confirmed dates as well as Rush.  I saw Rush last year for the 30th anniversary tour so I’ll be using the money to see some other bands.  I’m hoping Dream Theater will make a stop as well, but since they didn’t make it out with the Gigantour last year, I’m not holding my breath.   All in all pretty cool stuff!

Leave a Reply

